Friday night’s conversation in the pub above the din of a ceilidh:

Me: ‘It’s a bit of a nuisance to be going to London on Monday, because there is so much to do in the garden.’

My friend’s husband: ‘Really? I thought you’d still be holed up in your shed at this time of year!’

His wife shook her head and laughed. He would be my friend too, but I scarcely ever see him. He is something in the film world and leads a kind of international existence. I expect he’s at the Oscars tonight!

I began to talk about what I was doing in my garden.

Still cutting down, moving, planting, weeding, mulching, pruning, and clearing, pest control etc etc

‘Oh! So you’re quite busy then, really’ (surprised.)

I still didn’t think he quite believed it!

But this is the time when there is really everything to play for. So much you can do constructively to improve the garden long term and to get ahead of the game maintenance wise for the whole year.

Winters are constructive except when the weather stops you and that has been the big thing this year. There was at least a month when I didn’t get out in the garden. So these last few weeks of coldish but dryish weather are very precious. All the more since the last few years we have seemed to have the best and hottest weather in the Spring.

So make the most of it.

We’re in the zone! Are you?

Robert & Lesley

