French Topiary 2 ? It sounds a bit ‘advanced’, like top shelf reading matter. But it is really the sequel to our February post:

  • Topiary – Making Connections, Taking Advantage and Cannibalism
  •  I was of course aware of Chateau de Marqueyssac, but had never visited. The March BBC gardens Illustrated kind of brought it back to my attention and made me look again at the question of the volume and complexity of it.

    Is it that simple, that that is where its impact lies?

    Is just to have impact enough?

    Is it just me or have these guys gone too far?

    May be they need to go to a clinic for topiary addiction!

    It is less a case of less is more and more a case of let’s just do what we like and hang the consequences, which is of course what the Prince of Wales has famously done with the topiary walk at Highgrove.

    I have looked and looked. I have tried to find some decent repeated pattern in it. A wave that gives some cohesion. But it is not there. The little bobbles in the foreground are for me a step too far.

    Elsewhere more restful and sinuous effects are achieved:

    And by contrast the Chaos Garden actually lacks chaos.!

    For complete contrast Chateau de Gourdon is so simple:

    Although formal it is curiously relaxed. Or do I mean relaxing?

    I could sit above this for hours, with a bottle of crisp white to one side, just watching the shadows edge round, like time on a clock face.

    Robert

