Its a sure sign that you have been around a while in the garden world, when you look up a plant a plant you know well and find its name has changed!

Ggrrhh….. the frustration!

I used to know this as Thermopsis caroliniana:

 

 

This change is a shame, because it is from Carolina, amongst others, in the States and its common name is the Carolina Lupin. So the old specific name after all provided some geographic information.

At least that is what I think this is. Our friends in the largely States based Garden Designers Roundtable  will no doubt be able to confirm this.

It has certainly arisen as a seedling here and the books say this does seed around, but in the years when I grew it I never saw one.

So I feel very lucky.

But not that lucky, because I just have one. And in any decent border you need more than one of most things. The RHS Dictionary of Gardening advises ‘careful division’ which is not an expression you often see.

Looking at this plant, even after a couple of years, it doesn’t exactly have a very substantial crown to divide and one that I can somehow see sulking if hacked into. I think it is something that in the days when I ran a nursey I might have done as a special division within the nursery rather than out in the border.

I think given that I don’t really have the time for such fussing any more, I will ensure that the pods are scattered around here and wait for more seedlings. It proves the importance of careful weeding if your garden has the potential to yield stars like this. I first noticed that the leaves and stems when young had the glaucous tinge that you can sense in this photo and that was the clue to its identity.

Great to have such a refeshing primrose flower in the border so early in the year.

Robert

 

 

 

 

