Ok, this is actually quite funny:

today I managed to drive over my camera!

No, I am not even going to bother to explain the crass and forgetful circumstances.

Suffice it to say that the only reason I didn’t drive over my keys as well was because they were required to start the car!

But those Nikon guys build things tough.

While I fancied the body (of the camera!) was just a tad (but only a tad) thinner and definitely buckled round the battery hatch, and the shutter wouldn’t work, the viewing screen wasn’t broken, the battery is rechargeable and the memory would download.

This is its last photo:

Aahh!

Not the most exciting photo it ever took. Really just showing how dark it is under a huge copper beech tree and that on a summer day flash was needed.

Well this one won’t be flashing any more!

It was only a five year old Nikon Coolpix, so my world is not exactly in tatters. I was in fact already thinking that an upgrade was necessary. I was aware how much better other people’s photos were than mine. I found the difficulty in framing with it frustrating and although its minute size was helpful (little more than the footprint of two credit cards) the world of SLR probably looms back on the horizon.

Camera’s are vital for a garden designer. For surveying gardens, recording plant combinations, ideas, progress on jobs, gardens we visit and blogging!

There are a myriad of cameras out there to choose from, so if any one out in the universe has any advice for me I would be glad to hear it.

But just don’t tell me to head for the nearest twilight home!

In the meantime the Nikon Coolpix ‘whatever’ has been solemnly placed on the shelf in the dining room that acts as the camera cemetary.

I have every camera I have ever owned, including a Brownie 127! The most stylish to use was a Minolta whose shutter clunked in such a satisfying way that I felt like a famous photographer. David Hemmings in ‘Blow Up’. Or David Bailey.

The rest of them died on me, but I definitely killed this one.

Requiescat in pace.

