Common as muck, Montbretia…

isn’t it?

But as I walked through the cluster of trees, which I so very pretentiously call The Wood, the orange flowers were what I saw through the yew branches, and they were like fire running along the ground!

I am being a little brave in showing you this at all.

Since this is one of those corners, you know……., where you know just what to do, but you haven’t got there yet!

 An inherited border this.

Most of the lime green leaved Indigofera has died. The bullet should be bit and the rest removed.

The ivy needs to come from off the top of the wall before it destroys it!

A substantial amount of the large leaved Rodgersia needs to be removed and replanted in large clumps along another shady border.

I have some spectacular white flowered hostas with lime green foliage, which can be moved here. 

I have decided to dig up Aralia elata plantlets from elsewhere to be a dramatic backdrop to the border and Crambe cordifolia for early white flower.

But the Monbretia, or Crocosmia x crocosmiiflora as the botanists want us to call it?

Well, it was going to go. But, I might keep it. Its moment of running like fire was magic and it has space to flop here as it chooses.

Of course in South Africa, where they come from, Crocosmias grow in stream beds. Which is a little the clue to them having more moisture than they sometimes get where we plant them in the uk. So the incorporation of some good compost might improve things.

Or, if I chose, and wanted to be more selective I could use either ‘James Coey’ or ‘Star of the East’.

But there are moments when the gardening equivalent of eating fish and chips off newspaper is  quite a buzz!

There, that is another Autumn job mapped out.

R

